You know what the weirdest thing is? Yeah, sure, I cried. But I'm surprisingly okay with it. And I didn't sob like a crazy thing like I did during, say, Yusuf's beating in S2. I'm wondering if it isn't because, for the first time, I wasn't watching it alone, and Joey's presence sort of inhibited my weeping.
I think it'll really hit me next season, when we have to go through it all without any Tony.
Plus, you know, we know nothing of his life now, apart from "Michelle." Who's dead. And we didn't really see anybody grieving for him, very understandably, and I can't really see who would. Jack's a bit too busy being tortured to do that right now, and Chloe or Kim, for instance? They're not exactly people I feel for. Mm. Now I really, really wish Nina was still alive to be given the news, and isn't that fucked up of me.
I was IMDB-ing Carlos Bernard and scrolled down to the bottom of the page, where the message board headings were. Sadly, as I was only about 3 or 4 episodes into S5 at the time, I let out a huge scream when I read a header called 'TONY ISN'T DEAD, HE CAN'T BE!'
Now, that would have been my instant reaction, but I was pissed off. I asked Charlie if it was true, and being a good liar, she told me it wasn't. She didn't want me to believe it and wanted me as unspoiled as possible!
I cried when Chloe saw the photo at the end. I wept at Edgar's death, especially as the episode finished and as the timer came on the screen, it was silent instead of the Bip Bip Bips.
But then I cried when George Mason and Ryan Chappelle died too...
Ha! Charlie rocks. Which we knew already, but still.
Edgar didn't make me cry, no, I wasn't attached enough. But it was a brilliant scene, definitely.
I totally cried for George and Chappelle, though. George I always loved, even in Day One, and Day Two was just omgbrilliant for him. And Chappelle's death was so amazingly well written, how could I not. That's what I love them best for, when they take a character we shouldn't like and force us to emphathise.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-02 05:00 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-07-04 03:19 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-07-02 08:25 pm (UTC)I'm here honeybunch, with tissues, anger management books and a shoulder.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-04 03:23 pm (UTC)I think it'll really hit me next season, when we have to go through it all without any Tony.
Plus, you know, we know nothing of his life now, apart from "Michelle." Who's dead. And we didn't really see anybody grieving for him, very understandably, and I can't really see who would. Jack's a bit too busy being tortured to do that right now, and Chloe or Kim, for instance? They're not exactly people I feel for. Mm. Now I really, really wish Nina was still alive to be given the news, and isn't that fucked up of me.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-04 05:15 pm (UTC)Now, that would have been my instant reaction, but I was pissed off. I asked Charlie if it was true, and being a good liar, she told me it wasn't. She didn't want me to believe it and wanted me as unspoiled as possible!
I cried when Chloe saw the photo at the end. I wept at Edgar's death, especially as the episode finished and as the timer came on the screen, it was silent instead of the Bip Bip Bips.
But then I cried when George Mason and Ryan Chappelle died too...
no subject
Date: 2006-07-07 12:41 am (UTC)Edgar didn't make me cry, no, I wasn't attached enough. But it was a brilliant scene, definitely.
I totally cried for George and Chappelle, though. George I always loved, even in Day One, and Day Two was just omgbrilliant for him. And Chappelle's death was so amazingly well written, how could I not. That's what I love them best for, when they take a character we shouldn't like and force us to emphathise.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-07 06:10 am (UTC)