So, Goblet of Fire was seen and, surprisingly, enjoyed. Why surprisingly? Because it's my favourite book, and they've changed many a thing, or at least omitted many a thing, and most of my favourite characters didn't get near enough screen time (apart from the twins) and some of the dialogue was just... bad. But I definitely enjoyed it.
So, ok, Moody's eye sucked. But Brendan was excellent.
So, ok. We barely saw Malfoy. Make that the Malfoys. But Draco, despite the ferret incident, came off as way less of a pathetic joke than in the previous movie (which says a lot about what the previous movie made him, and why I disliked said movie). As for Lucius... I can't help loving him. No matter what. Because, Jason. Dear gods Jason. I do wish we'd seen Narcissa, though, if only in the background, and silent. I do love Narcissa.
So, ok. We barely saw Snape. But what we did see of him? Hmmm. Let me start with the cuffs. Because those cuffs? He could just be silent and show his cuffs and pull his Alan-Rickman-y faces and I'd be happy. (Which brings to mind the lovely lovely study room scene. Which I'll squee about when I get to the twins.) And then, of course, Alan's voice. That voice. It had been so long - far too long - which is probably why it had such a powerful effect on me. Right? ...why would I need an excuse to get weak in the knees at his voice? Anyway. when Harry catches him and Karkaroff? Great scene then. Loved the later look Snape cast Harry when it was revealed Barty!Moody had stolen from his stocks. That said, I'm very frustrated that Snape and Barty didn't have one itsy bit of dialogue at the end. That cut was very unfortunate.
So, ok. We barely saw Barty as Barty. But every bit of it was infinitely enjoyable! It's time the world woke up to the amazing actor that is David Tennant. And I thought the tongue thing he did was great. It could have been ridiculous, but David pulled it off.I can't wait for the Christmas Special dammit! Are the DVDs out? I need to get a job and buy the DVDs.
So, ok. I wasn't taken in - at all - by Ralph Fiennes' performance. I mean, not at all. This Voldemort was incredibly... energetic? Festive? Good-mood-y? And, really, not at all scary. But - because there is a but - I loved the way he moved. That was very well-done. That said, we could have done without the "noooooo!" scream. I mean, ok, he pulled it off better than one Darth "I just killed my wife so I thought I'd be a laughing stock now" Vader. But still. While a "noooooo!" scream was completely ok with Amos Diggory, you, my dear Voldie, really shouldn't have. Dammit. Why isn't Voldie scary (apart from the moving)? Nagini, though, I love muchly.
So, ok. They completely took out the build-up of "things are happening happening happening oh gods what is going on?" that was the end of the book. Which is one of the major reason why it's my favourite book. Because from the Portkey!Cup on? I couldn't put the bloody book down! Bam, Cedric's dead, bam, Voldie's back, bam, Deatheaters abound, bam, Priori Incantatem, bam, Harry's back, bam, Moody takes him, bam, Moody's Barty Jr., bam, Harry's rescued, bam, the hospital scene. That hospital scene. You feel the urgency. You feel the "things are going to change." Hermione saying "things are going to change"? Really not the same as Albus making Sirius and Severus shake hands (come on) and sending people to round up everybody he can trust, after arguing with Fudge about Voldemort's return, and wanting to send envoys to the giants, and - ah. That scene. That scene. But I don't even expect to see it in the deleted scenes, because it truly has no place in this movie, not the way the end's been written. Which is a damn shame, granted, but... as a movie, it stands. Apart from the lack of explanation for Priori Incantatem, true. That was just - bad form. For those who haven't read the book.
So, ok. We didn't see Bill or Charlie. But... the twins. Omigods the twins love. The audience clapped and cheered at the study room, at the wink. I swear. French audiences don't cheer for no reason. That was the only scene in the movie that got a cheer. I feel so-not-alone in my twins love. And how hard I love them, and how much goodness there was. Ok, so there was no mention of their plans for their shop. Ok, so Bill and Charlie were nowhere to be seen. But Charlie got a mention, which is more than I was hoping for truly (and Charlie how I love you - I squeed at a mention of him!), and the twins were all over this film. I need caps, people. Do you know where I can get caps? Icons must be made.
So, ok. Krum was an absence of a character. But... wait, no, I don't have a "but" on that one. They completely ruined him, and I don't think they have an excuse. Cedric and Fleur were both true to their book selves (although I didn't remember Cedric as making so much with the slashiness, but I'll come back to that later), why was Krum like... that? Or rather, why was he not like anything? I wouldn't have minded if they'd only changed his character some - I mean, after the first half-hour or so I expected him to be Durmstrang's Draco, pretty much. All with the arrogance and stuff. But, not even. His character had no cohesion (or is that coherence?), and that's just the worst thing you can do.
So, ok.Gandalf Dumbledore was still not Dumbledore. Because Dumbledore is Richard Harris, at least the Dumbledore I love is. But I didn't dislike Michael Gamblon as much as in PoA (for the record? I usually love him, it's just as Dumbledore that I have issues with him), and that would be because Michael Gamblon, as proved the post-Pensieve scene, is perfect at playing the Dumbledore we discovered at the end of OotP, that is a Dumbledore that's in way over his head and makes mistakes and can't actually deal with things. He looked so distraught, and lost in that scene, I almost wanted to step in and hug him. I don't know if the writer deliberately wrote him that way to make the link with OotP, or if Mike Newell specifically directed him that way, but in any case? Even though that's not the Dumbledore I like? Good job.
So, ok. Hermione's dialogue was mostly crap. But... she's very pretty? Despite the horrible, horrible dress. While Cho's dress was so very gorgeous. Kinda like those gorgeous outfits they got in LotR. /end Liv Tyler moment
I reckon I'm done with my "so, ok"s now.I heard you sigh in relief! Shut up. Now let's get on with... the slashiness.
Dear Merlin. The slashiness in that film? Pretty impressive. That first fight of Harry and Ron? The music made it feel so much like a lovers' quarrel. And when they made up? Hermione's "boys..." was completely the line of all the Harry/Ron slashers out there. I personally am so not into Ron/Harry. Just - not. But I couldn't not notice it in there. When Cedric goes and suggests that Harry goes and enjoys a bath in the prefects' bathroom? Yuh-huh. And I could just picture all the twincest lovers squeeing when they started wrestling.Not that I minded seeing that. "You said -" "You said -" *twinwrestlelove* There was boyslash all over this movie. Seriously.
On a less fangirly note, now. Why did I like this movie? Because it was funny in ways the previous one hadn't managed. There was no heavy-handed comedy, of the "Dumbledore pats Ron on his injured leg" variety. Thank the gods. Because while it wasn't faithful to the book, it stands on its own much better than the previous one did. There is only one not-that-terribly-important thing I think they should have explained for the haven't-read-the-books audience to understand, whereas PoA was just one big non-sequitur (if that means what I think it means). Because it was suspenseful (even for someone who had read the book), and because the script might've had flaws but, as I said, it stands on its own, and I was never truly bored. Because even the minor characters felt like they were given a decent part. Because the magic was there, and so were the twins - and they more than made up for the few lines of dialogue (most of whose Hermione's) that were absolute crap. (Harry's "I love magic" comes to mind as well.)
Finally, I've watched State of Play. (Many thanks to
south_uist!) And it was, expectedly, incredibly good. Just look at that cast. Just to name a few: John Simm (who I'd seen in the excellent "Sex traffic"), Kelly McDonald (still crushing hard, people), Bill Nighy, Marc Warren (who I always love hearing talk as he has the most delightful cockney accent - yes I get off on cockney, so what? - and his character had this coat that Chaucer would have been proud of... just sayin'), James McAvoy (who plays Paul Bettany's brother in Wimbledon, is a cutie, has a lovely character that reminds me rather a lot of one of mine, has recently played Macbeth in a revisited version of the play (BBC's just done four modern Shakespeare adaptations, and I need to get my hands on them!), is almost making me wish I'd watched Shameless now that I see he was in it, and is one more reason for me to look forward to Narnia... as if I needed any more reasons). Oh, and the lovely young Tom Burke, who I did think I'd seen somewhere before, and that would be in Casanova! Also, David Morrissey's performance and physical bearing called to mind Liam Neeson's Michael Collins, for some reason. Anyway. Great script, great directing, great acting... I loved it. And highly recommand it.
Dammit. Marc Warren makes me want to:
1) see Green Street Hooligans. NOW.
2) buy meself some Hustle DVDs. NOW.
Also, there's an ad for Pride and Prejudice in Premiere, and it'll be released some time in January. Which feels like ages from now. Forlorn is me. (Because "forlorn" seems a much better word to associate with this movie than a mere "sad.")
So, ok, Moody's eye sucked. But Brendan was excellent.
So, ok. We barely saw Malfoy. Make that the Malfoys. But Draco, despite the ferret incident, came off as way less of a pathetic joke than in the previous movie (which says a lot about what the previous movie made him, and why I disliked said movie). As for Lucius... I can't help loving him. No matter what. Because, Jason. Dear gods Jason. I do wish we'd seen Narcissa, though, if only in the background, and silent. I do love Narcissa.
So, ok. We barely saw Snape. But what we did see of him? Hmmm. Let me start with the cuffs. Because those cuffs? He could just be silent and show his cuffs and pull his Alan-Rickman-y faces and I'd be happy. (Which brings to mind the lovely lovely study room scene. Which I'll squee about when I get to the twins.) And then, of course, Alan's voice. That voice. It had been so long - far too long - which is probably why it had such a powerful effect on me. Right? ...why would I need an excuse to get weak in the knees at his voice? Anyway. when Harry catches him and Karkaroff? Great scene then. Loved the later look Snape cast Harry when it was revealed Barty!Moody had stolen from his stocks. That said, I'm very frustrated that Snape and Barty didn't have one itsy bit of dialogue at the end. That cut was very unfortunate.
So, ok. We barely saw Barty as Barty. But every bit of it was infinitely enjoyable! It's time the world woke up to the amazing actor that is David Tennant. And I thought the tongue thing he did was great. It could have been ridiculous, but David pulled it off.
So, ok. I wasn't taken in - at all - by Ralph Fiennes' performance. I mean, not at all. This Voldemort was incredibly... energetic? Festive? Good-mood-y? And, really, not at all scary. But - because there is a but - I loved the way he moved. That was very well-done. That said, we could have done without the "noooooo!" scream. I mean, ok, he pulled it off better than one Darth "I just killed my wife so I thought I'd be a laughing stock now" Vader. But still. While a "noooooo!" scream was completely ok with Amos Diggory, you, my dear Voldie, really shouldn't have. Dammit. Why isn't Voldie scary (apart from the moving)? Nagini, though, I love muchly.
So, ok. They completely took out the build-up of "things are happening happening happening oh gods what is going on?" that was the end of the book. Which is one of the major reason why it's my favourite book. Because from the Portkey!Cup on? I couldn't put the bloody book down! Bam, Cedric's dead, bam, Voldie's back, bam, Deatheaters abound, bam, Priori Incantatem, bam, Harry's back, bam, Moody takes him, bam, Moody's Barty Jr., bam, Harry's rescued, bam, the hospital scene. That hospital scene. You feel the urgency. You feel the "things are going to change." Hermione saying "things are going to change"? Really not the same as Albus making Sirius and Severus shake hands (come on) and sending people to round up everybody he can trust, after arguing with Fudge about Voldemort's return, and wanting to send envoys to the giants, and - ah. That scene. That scene. But I don't even expect to see it in the deleted scenes, because it truly has no place in this movie, not the way the end's been written. Which is a damn shame, granted, but... as a movie, it stands. Apart from the lack of explanation for Priori Incantatem, true. That was just - bad form. For those who haven't read the book.
So, ok. We didn't see Bill or Charlie. But... the twins. Omigods the twins love. The audience clapped and cheered at the study room, at the wink. I swear. French audiences don't cheer for no reason. That was the only scene in the movie that got a cheer. I feel so-not-alone in my twins love. And how hard I love them, and how much goodness there was. Ok, so there was no mention of their plans for their shop. Ok, so Bill and Charlie were nowhere to be seen. But Charlie got a mention, which is more than I was hoping for truly (and Charlie how I love you - I squeed at a mention of him!), and the twins were all over this film. I need caps, people. Do you know where I can get caps? Icons must be made.
So, ok. Krum was an absence of a character. But... wait, no, I don't have a "but" on that one. They completely ruined him, and I don't think they have an excuse. Cedric and Fleur were both true to their book selves (although I didn't remember Cedric as making so much with the slashiness, but I'll come back to that later), why was Krum like... that? Or rather, why was he not like anything? I wouldn't have minded if they'd only changed his character some - I mean, after the first half-hour or so I expected him to be Durmstrang's Draco, pretty much. All with the arrogance and stuff. But, not even. His character had no cohesion (or is that coherence?), and that's just the worst thing you can do.
So, ok.
So, ok. Hermione's dialogue was mostly crap. But... she's very pretty? Despite the horrible, horrible dress. While Cho's dress was so very gorgeous. Kinda like those gorgeous outfits they got in LotR. /end Liv Tyler moment
I reckon I'm done with my "so, ok"s now.
Dear Merlin. The slashiness in that film? Pretty impressive. That first fight of Harry and Ron? The music made it feel so much like a lovers' quarrel. And when they made up? Hermione's "boys..." was completely the line of all the Harry/Ron slashers out there. I personally am so not into Ron/Harry. Just - not. But I couldn't not notice it in there. When Cedric goes and suggests that Harry goes and enjoys a bath in the prefects' bathroom? Yuh-huh. And I could just picture all the twincest lovers squeeing when they started wrestling.
On a less fangirly note, now. Why did I like this movie? Because it was funny in ways the previous one hadn't managed. There was no heavy-handed comedy, of the "Dumbledore pats Ron on his injured leg" variety. Thank the gods. Because while it wasn't faithful to the book, it stands on its own much better than the previous one did. There is only one not-that-terribly-important thing I think they should have explained for the haven't-read-the-books audience to understand, whereas PoA was just one big non-sequitur (if that means what I think it means). Because it was suspenseful (even for someone who had read the book), and because the script might've had flaws but, as I said, it stands on its own, and I was never truly bored. Because even the minor characters felt like they were given a decent part. Because the magic was there, and so were the twins - and they more than made up for the few lines of dialogue (most of whose Hermione's) that were absolute crap. (Harry's "I love magic" comes to mind as well.)
Finally, I've watched State of Play. (Many thanks to
Dammit. Marc Warren makes me want to:
1) see Green Street Hooligans. NOW.
2) buy meself some Hustle DVDs. NOW.
Also, there's an ad for Pride and Prejudice in Premiere, and it'll be released some time in January. Which feels like ages from now. Forlorn is me. (Because "forlorn" seems a much better word to associate with this movie than a mere "sad.")
no subject
Date: 2005-11-30 07:07 pm (UTC)Snape could do nothing but tug those cuffs and read the phone book for 2 hours and I'd pay $8 to see it. Srsly. And OMG YESSSS Lucius... OMG JASON ISAACS DO MEEEEEEEEEEE [twitchflail] I was impressed with Ralph Fiennes, thought he made Voldy sexy in a way I didn't feel was possible but do agree with you on to too-energetic-ness.
Was v. bitter re: lack of elder Weasleys (Percy, too, but I can't BELIEVE they took out Charlie, they could easily have stuck him in for 30 seconds during the dragon scene) but THE TWINS OMG SO HOT [flail] I've been searching for as much het threesome fic with them as possible, difficult to find, alas, as the only other major female character with whom one could pair them is Ginny and ugh.
I can't quite get used to this Dumbles, as you say, the first is the "real" one and I was quite taken aback to see him mauling Harry after the name choosing bit. Agreed on Hermione's shite dialogue. V. dissatisfactory. Also agreed on Hermione's and Cho's dresses, Cho's was lovely (as was the actress herself) but Hermione's was horrendous. And pink. It would have killed them to put her in blue, as it was in the book?
I think my slashiness detector in my head is broken, because I didn't get *any* from Cedric, or between Harry and Ron, or the twins, or anywhere else. AT ALL. Woe.
no subject
Date: 2005-12-01 05:40 am (UTC)And see, dear Igor? Not so much, teeth notwithstanding. But dear gods Snape and Lucius. Although my Lucius fantasies do not involve spanking
but possibly being slammed into a wall. Heh.I need a Lucius icon.
Ah, Barty will have to do instead. All that leather.
no subject
Date: 2005-12-01 06:10 am (UTC)There are a lot of things I'd like to do to Lucius' ass, spanking being only one of them. RAWR.
no subject
Date: 2005-12-01 12:34 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-12-01 05:47 am (UTC)You found Voldy sexy? Huh. Everybody I went to see it with complained that when you hire Ralph Fiennes, you don't wanna ruin his looks. But the way he moved... yes, there was something to that. I wouldn't ask for Dark Lord Lovin' any time soon, or ever, but...
As for Charlie - much as I would've loved to see him even for just ten, or hell five seconds, what would the point have been? Apart from making us squee. Which it would've. But scenaristically speaking, it wouldn't hold.
Aha! The twins love spreads. :)
As for the slashiness - it was there. Really. Completely. I don't know if Mike Newell is a repressed or acknowledged slasher, but he must be one of the two. It was everywhere.
no subject
Date: 2005-12-01 06:13 am (UTC)Well, Charlie's appearance would have been gratuitous fanservice, but they've done it before-- Hermione's grabbing Ron's wrist in the last film, anyone? It would have been nice to have a face to put to all the fanfic. You just can't have too many red-headed hotties, IMO.
Like I said to the other person, I think something in my head is broken. I was quite surprised to see you mention the rampant slashiness in your post, as I'd had NO IDEA there was any until you mentioned it. Will have to take your word for it, because I'm still not sensing/seeing any. Good thing I trust you :)
no subject
Date: 2005-12-01 06:23 am (UTC)That said, I doubt they'll ever actually feature Charlie - the films, I mean. Which, if they don't, they totally should have put a face to the name. But Narcissa, they're bound to use her for the sixth film. (Right? They can't work around her, can they?)
Well, it's not necessarily a bad thing not to have boyslash jump out at you every other scene. I like your head the way it is, something broken in it or no. And I'm touched that you trust me on slashiness. ;)
As for "the other person," that's Tessa, who we met last year at the Firefly convention. Lovely girl. :)
no subject
Date: 2005-12-01 12:33 pm (UTC)Hi, Tessa! [waves]
no subject
Date: 2005-12-02 11:45 am (UTC)Or possibly I see more gayness than there ever is in anything you throw at me. Because I'm neurotic? The jury's still out on my gaydar, really.no subject
Date: 2005-12-02 01:23 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-12-02 12:48 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-12-02 01:24 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-12-02 01:31 pm (UTC)"Hi. My name is Manu and I haven't seen the slash in GoF"
"Hi Manu!"
And there would be hords of fangirls outside, waiting for us near the door, trying to hand over to us GoF slash fics that we will
grab avidly before running to hide in a quite place and read them eagerly as fast as possiblewatch withlust and envysurprise.no subject
Date: 2005-11-30 07:21 pm (UTC)Also, omg, yes! I forgot to squee at you about the Snape and Harry glance. Because Harry's all "I told you so, you jerk," and Snape is all, "Watch my not care, you worthless little swot." Aaaah I love my greasy hooknosed potions master.
no subject
Date: 2005-12-01 05:50 am (UTC)But... I like your leg! Or, as I have never met your leg, let's rephrase and say that I like you with two legs. Although I fully support the sentiment.
But would never saw off any part of me for it. Just sayin'.I know! I love that look. It's so very very very good. So much said with not a word. *loves loves loves Alan*
Dammit! I don't have any Alan icon. *pouts* I'll go make one soon.
no subject
Date: 2005-11-30 11:43 pm (UTC)"He's mine!" V screams at Lucius to stop his intervening; Dumbledore meanwhile tells Harry, "You're not alone."
State of Play!! Such a wonderful series. Shameless is also good. And "forlorn" is the perfect word for using with Pride and Prejudice. *wants you to see it RIGHT NOW* *wouldn't mind seeing it again myself too*
no subject
Date: 2005-12-01 05:56 am (UTC)Shameless is good? The trailers really hadn't made me want to watch it. Dammit. That'll teach me to trust the trailers. ...I think it was on at the same time as something else anyway. I mean, something I wanted to watch.
*smiles* Thanks for the P&P sympathy. I want me to see it right now too. ...and you to see it again, because I am not completely self-centered thank you. ;)
no subject
Date: 2005-12-01 08:03 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-12-02 11:38 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-12-01 05:37 pm (UTC)I want it! Can I have? Can I? Please? Pretty please with Fred and George and chocolate syrup on top?
[grovels]
no subject
Date: 2005-12-02 11:40 am (UTC)And the twins with chocolate syrup on top don't hurt.