fan_elune: (paul mad)
[personal profile] fan_elune
Alright, so The Da Vinci Code opened in France today. Did you really think that there was any way for me not to go on Day One? I mean, we're talking about Paul here. (And Sir Ian, and Jean, and a tiny little bit Seth, too, let's face it. But really, the can't-wait-not-even-one-day factor? Paul.)

So. Um.

I didn't actually like the book, right? But in some aspects, the book makes a better read than the movie makes a watch.

...is it bad that so many people laughed at the big revelation? I think it is.

The score.

The score doesn't help. The score is terrible. Even during the self-flagellation scenes, which are fucking impressive and make me want to pamper Paul an awful lot, and bring him tea and cuddle him and make sure he's alright, the music is just. The music makes sure to remind you that this is a pompous corny movie chasing after oscars, or something. Blah.

The actors.

Audrey Tautou did not annoy me like she usually does, which is good. Tom Hanks, however, is as wallpaper-y as usual. This man cannot carry a movie people stop making him try. Sir Ian McKellen is brilliant, but when is he not. He's absolutely amazing. Also, the guy who played Rémy, Jean-Yves Berteloot, was very good. His last scene sucked, though, and made me wonder what the hell Ron Howard was on when he decided to shoot it this way. Seth Gabel was there for an even shorter appearance than I thought, the whole of two minutes when I was hoping for five! And I could not help but see Adrian (think Nip/Tuck), which... was actually pretty funny, considering. Jean Reno was, well, Jean Reno, although not at his best.

And, of course, Paul. Paul was amazing, and that thing he does with his voice, and the self-flagellation, god, hell. He really sells it. And there's a physicality to Silas that is exactly what it should have been. Also, when I could stop cringing at the wounds on his body, he happens to be really. Um. Biteable? All over. All over. But, seriously, his performance. Especially in that scene in the car, where he conveys so much. He is amazing. He has relatively little dialogue, but it's all in his looks. He's... it's not his best performance of all times, alright, I'll give you that and then some. Or maybe simply, it wasn't his best role of all times. But it was still a hell of a performance.

The script.

Now, about the adaptation. One of the main problems why the book works better in some ways? Is that in the book, you have the time to think about the riddles, and thus you're feeling involved. It actually makes you think. In the movie, you don't have the time for anything. Which seems obvious, but. Yeah.

And, you know, I wasn't a big fan of the book's plot to start with, so the fact that it's a mostly faithful adaptation? Not actually the best thing. And what little characterisation was in the book did not translate well to the movie at all, starting with Silas and Aringarosa, whose relationship was so much mroe fascinating in the book. ...and, okay, who were the only fascinating characters in the book.

The direction.

...overdone. Seriously so. And sometimes, it worked perfectly: the self-flagellation scenes, for instance. Or the very last scene, which I think worked despite the, let's call it "dive", that I didn't like so much, but I understand why, symbolically, they went for that. But at other times, it just... really failed to work. Ron Howard was trying far too hard with this movie, I find.

My opinion, in the end.

Just like the book? It felt sort of. Empty. Like one big cryptex with nothing inside.

And the BBC put it very well: "Together McKellen and Bettany prevent the film from being a £125m critical disaster."

The random complaint of the day.

And, I'm sorry, but I thought it was all fiction? Because the fucking retards that start yelling "BLASPHEMY!" in the middle of the movie? Fuck. Off. FICTION. Look it up. I am sick and tired of hearing about all the protests against this movie. Not because I liked it, rather obviously, but because it is FICTION. Hell.


I'm not following Cannes in the hopes of catching a glimpse of Paul, no I'm not.

Edit: woe! Alan's pilot for a drama show, "Capitol Law," has not been picked up by CBS. On the other hand, if it means he can make it to Serenity Cubed... I'm not too worried for the man, he hasn't had trouble finding work for a while, now, and hopefully it'll mean more theatre and/or movie work for him. I don't know why I want him to get back onstage, since I very much doubt he'd ever be onstage in Paris, but I like the idea anyway. Aaaanyway. Mostly I'm saddened because I really wanted to see him and Joshua Jackson sharing the screen. Hopefully the pilot will make its way onto the internet anyway, and if any of you finds it I expect to be notified immediately! Pretty please with naked Paul'n'Alan on top.
(deleted comment)

Date: 2006-05-18 05:00 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fan-elune.livejournal.com
Enfin en même temps ce n'est que mon avis personnel, et Paul et Sir Ian sont vraiment bons. Contrairement au reste du film. Ca donne quoi ta situation ciné ? Assez de VO ? Et j'ai très hâte de voir X-Men 3 aussi, je ne me rendais pas compte que c'était aussi proche yay!

Exactement. Et puis crier au blasphème ça implique prendre ces accusations au sérieux, qui implique que c'est entièrement possible que ce soit vrai. Donc bon ils désservent leur but. Je serais eux j'aurais plutôt laisser couler sans rien dire, le film aurait eu vachement moins de pub. ;)

Date: 2006-05-18 01:26 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] foleydurden.livejournal.com
Gniiiiiii Paul!! Honnetement je sais pas si je serai allé le voir si il n'y avait pas eu Paul Bettany, tout le monde dit que c'est pas terrible et bon j'ai bien aimé le bouquin, ça passe le temps sur le coup mais je l'ai vite oublié... Pis le casting merdique de Ron Howard -_- Merci bien.

Mais bon Paul en Silas <3 Je cris dés que je vois une affiche. (où ils sont tous ridicules avec leur regard fuyant vers leur avenir incertain, à part Paul qui est brrrrrr grr!) Quand j'ai vu la BA pour la première fois et que je l'ai reconnu *thud* ...

Mais j'attendrais la semaine prochaine ou même celle d'après, que tout le monde y soit allé, parce que ce weekend, c'est même pas la peine!

This man cannot carry a movie people stop making him try.
Tu 'as enlevé les mots de la bouche!

Date: 2006-05-18 05:04 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fan-elune.livejournal.com
Oui, je dois dire que Paul a joué un grand rôle dans mon envie d'aller le voir. Paul et Ian et Jean, surtout. Mais Tom Hanks et Audrey Tautou je m'en serais bien passé. Enfin bref.

God, première fois que j'ai vu la BA... je savais qu'il était Silas, mais le voir, et surtout quand il se fouette. GAH. PAUL ARRETE DE TE FAIRE DU MAL. Steuplaît. Brrr. Et le plan où il saute sur le mur... parfait. Flippant. PAUL TU ES FLIPPANT.

Date: 2006-05-22 09:19 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] plumedephenix.livejournal.com
Moé j'suis golablement d'accord avec tout ça...
Ian et Paul étaient vraiment géniaux, jcrois que c'est ce que je retiens le plus. Surtout Ian j'avoue.
Audrey Tautou m'a pas dérangée pour une fois, et Tom Hanks est égal a lui même...pas fronciérement mauvais mais pas exceptionnel... Jean Reno normal aussi..
Par contre Collet était pitoyable...heureusement c'est pas un grand rôle mais huh !
En regle générale a chaque fois qu'on entendait parler français , c'etait assez pitoyable :). (sauf ds la bouche de Ian :)
J'crois que l'apogée du bidonisme c'etait quand même à Roslin à la fin, quand tous les gens rentrent dans l'eglise et qu'on leur dit que c'est le prieuré de sion...mais LOL ! Bidonesque =). "oui ils vont vous protéger!" oué génial -_- t'as vu ça d'ta f'nêtre ? bref...
Sinon jsuis bien d'accord pour la scène avec Rémi ou on ne voit pas Teabing, c'etait vraiment nul de la filmer comme ça... "ATTENTION ATTENTION, ON GARDE LE SUSPENS ATTENTION C PAS DROLE SINON" oO..
Et tout a fait d'accord pour la relation Aringarosa/Silas.
En définitive ça aurait pu etre pire, mais bon deja le livre n'etait pas un chef d'oeuvre... Je sais pas si c'est en partie a cause de la traduction mais j'avoue trouvé le style plutôt mauvais et l'histoire par moment bien niaise.

Profile

fan_elune: (Default)
Nate Elune

October 2013

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223 242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 09:34 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios