28 Days quotespam
May. 22nd, 2006 03:01 pmSo now that I've finally seen 28 Days, and cackled and awwwed and all other sorts of reactions over Gerhardt, it's high time to do another Alan quotespam. Sadly, much less interesting than the one over I, Robot, and even Dodgeball. And also much shorter, as it seems that nobody, back then, wanted to interview him about this movie. ...what do you mean they were all fixated on Sandra Bullock.
I love that people reacted to him so well. It seems to be such a constant in his performances. He's just so very endearing. (Yes, even when he plays a psycho drug dealer, but that's a bit off topic.) It's the funny, I do believe. His brand of funny is so that you can't help love him.
Oh, hell, he's just brilliant.
Two things here. First off, I can totally picture him at those friends of his' spending his time laughing at the fucking dog. Because he doesn't need elaborate jokes or anything, he's a very simple guy, and a bulldog will make him laugh.
Then - the fact that once more, he is right about the funny. Just like with Wash's moustache. The guy has an inate sense of humour, and he just nails it.
Again, a few things. First off, damn that movie, and damn Alan, but I now kind of like Sandra Bullock. I used to not, but she's just so very cute in this movie, and reading what Alan has to say about her... I mean, he has no trouble being harsh when he wants to be(just look at what he said about not!Inara at Collectormania 9), and he clearly really does like her, and it might sound weird but most of the BDH? I trust them for making good judgement calls about people.
Also, how can I not like her when, in the Making Of that's on the DVD, she spends thirty seconds praising Alan. Yes, she does, and explains how he kept making everybody laugh, and you couldn't stay serious around him. And she giggles about his package, and notes how big it was, indeed.
And for some reason, his calling her "a doll" is the cutest thing on earth.
Also, I love the Texas bit, because he's so very much in love with his homestate. And that, too, is uber-cute.
I'm sorry, this is probably just amusing to me and the handful of people that can hear him say that we know his voice so well, but. ...heh.
Right, so. I've never watched Young Frankenstein.Now I kinda want to, though. But I thought I'd put this in in case any of you have, and care to know about what he based Gerhardt on.
Also, this is when a lot of RPS writers start sobbing. Or vow that he was just saying that, and that Amy Sedaris was just a cover-up for his homosexuality/that he's actually bisexual. Yep.
Right. So that's it. It's very sad that there isn't more out there about him and his part in that movie, so if you have anything please leave it in a comment and I'll add it here? Ta very much.
In other Alan-related news, I've finally got my hands on his episode of Into The West, and between the riding and the getting angry and arguing with his brother, and oh dear god the accent? Much, much squeeing for just four or five scenes.
The film originally ended with Bullock reunited with love interest Viggo Mortensen in a ballpark, until test audiences demanded to know what happened to Gerhardt. "It was very cool," he admits. "We shot it in a few hours, and there wasn't really a script for it. I was doing a play on Broadway at the time, and I flew out to the Universal lot and we shot it on their New York set."
I love that people reacted to him so well. It seems to be such a constant in his performances. He's just so very endearing. (Yes, even when he plays a psycho drug dealer, but that's a bit off topic.) It's the funny, I do believe. His brand of funny is so that you can't help love him.
Oh, hell, he's just brilliant.
The scene was mostly improvised, and director Betty Thomas even had the actor pick what sort of pet Gerhardt should own. "I instantly said a bulldog, because bulldogs are the funniest dogs in the world," he explains. "I had just stayed with some people who have one, and I was laughing the entire time. It would run up this long staircase and run out of breath, and look back down, but decide it was too far to go. So it would stand in the middle, looking back and forth, trying to figure out which way to go." Thomas suggested Gerhardt own a pet pig, which Tudyk thought was "too much," but they agreed to shoot it both ways. In the end, the bulldog won.
Two things here. First off, I can totally picture him at those friends of his' spending his time laughing at the fucking dog. Because he doesn't need elaborate jokes or anything, he's a very simple guy, and a bulldog will make him laugh.
Then - the fact that once more, he is right about the funny. Just like with Wash's moustache. The guy has an inate sense of humour, and he just nails it.
About Sandra Bullock: "She was a doll. I still have a crush on her. She's the best, she really is one of the most generous people I've ever met. Like she would get all excited and tell me, 'They gave me a plane to go to New York!' Hey, hello, you're a star. Didn't anybody tell you? And she would go, 'Does anybody want to get on this thing with me? C'mon, let's go!' So yeah, she's great. I love her. I love Sandra Bullock. Hey, she lives in Texas. She's got good taste!"
Again, a few things. First off, damn that movie, and damn Alan, but I now kind of like Sandra Bullock. I used to not, but she's just so very cute in this movie, and reading what Alan has to say about her... I mean, he has no trouble being harsh when he wants to be
Also, how can I not like her when, in the Making Of that's on the DVD, she spends thirty seconds praising Alan. Yes, she does, and explains how he kept making everybody laugh, and you couldn't stay serious around him. And she giggles about his package, and notes how big it was, indeed.
And for some reason, his calling her "a doll" is the cutest thing on earth.
Also, I love the Texas bit, because he's so very much in love with his homestate. And that, too, is uber-cute.
"Betty called and told me to get to New York because Sandra (Bullock) and I were going to be filming a scene with dead flowers and a dog," says Tudyk.
I'm sorry, this is probably just amusing to me and the handful of people that can hear him say that we know his voice so well, but. ...heh.
"I'm a heterosexual Texan who happens to be a huge fan of Mel Brooks' Young Frankenstein. Gerhardt is my homage to Kenneth Mars, who played the policeman in Young Frankenstein," explains Tudyk.
Right, so. I've never watched Young Frankenstein.
Also, this is when a lot of RPS writers start sobbing. Or vow that he was just saying that, and that Amy Sedaris was just a cover-up for his homosexuality/that he's actually bisexual. Yep.
Right. So that's it. It's very sad that there isn't more out there about him and his part in that movie, so if you have anything please leave it in a comment and I'll add it here? Ta very much.
In other Alan-related news, I've finally got my hands on his episode of Into The West, and between the riding and the getting angry and arguing with his brother, and oh dear god the accent? Much, much squeeing for just four or five scenes.
no subject
Date: 2006-05-22 01:10 pm (UTC)...you know, if I knew him.
...which I don't.
Oh, hush.
no subject
Date: 2006-05-22 01:15 pm (UTC)And I'll just have to take your word for it.
*adds Young Frankenstein to the list of movies to rent*
You know what else? I kinda wanna see, what's it called? ...Smokey and the Bandit? On account of him.
no subject
Date: 2006-05-22 02:49 pm (UTC)You've never seen Young Frankenstein? I used to watch that and Robin Hood: Men In Tights all the time when I was a kid. =) It's great.
Thanks for the quotespam. Everything he says about that movie is so damn adorable. And his sense of humor is so innate, hence the constant comic genius. [Now I feel like I need to watch it again.]
no subject
Date: 2006-05-22 08:43 pm (UTC)Oh, Men In Tights yes, a world of yes. I watched that movie so many times as a kid. But Young Frankenstein, no, never.
...now I feel like watching it again too. Which is why I should do quotespams right after having watched stuff, not weeks later. *eyeroll* Anyway. You're very welcome, and he is adorable
especially with his Sandra crush, and he is a comic genius. Yes.no subject
Date: 2006-05-22 01:29 pm (UTC)And yeah, Young Frankenstein. \o/! "Und now ve vill go to my house and haff some vine and a lettle sponge cake!" One of my favorites. And not just because of Gene Wilder and Peter Boyle's rendition of "Puttin' on the Ritz" neither. :D
So then, he was invovled with Amy Sedaris? *nosy*
no subject
Date: 2006-05-22 08:55 pm (UTC)totally ripped the movieand brought it back to the shop. Woe! Who's commenting?...okay, by now I really, really want to see it. Heh.
I think so, yes. I'd read that on some site or other, and they worked together once in...something. I'm a bad fangirl, I am. Anyway, he's reported to have dated her.
no subject
Date: 2006-05-22 11:14 pm (UTC)Betty Thomas, her cinematographer, the film's editor, musical director, and the producer...Jenno Topping? is that her name? dunno.
I'm so helpful, I totally don't know any of their names! But they all think Alan is a genius. So I love them all. :D
Tidbit from the commentary? Why yes, I do! To elicit Gerhardt's confessional, Betty Thomas asked him a leading question because she knew he "had some stuff going on in his own life" and just turned him loose. That whole sequence was just Alan improvising, none of that was written. And it was the second one he did. The first one didn't hold together thematically with that part of the movie, so they threw it out. Evidently, it was about fish.
He's brilliant. BRILLIANT!
You must see Young Frankenstein! It's a hoot! You come to my house, ok? We'll watch together! :D
I knew they were in plays together, and of course he guest starred on Strangers With Candy, and I'd heard the rumor they were an item, but had never seen it "confirmed." But now I shall choose to believe it, and shall set about convincing myself that, all evidence to the contrary, Alan goes for quirky, funny women.
Because I can totally learn to be quirky and funny, whereas I can never be under the age of 30, tall, blonde, and nordic looking.
Stop looking at me like that.
:P
no subject
Date: 2006-05-22 08:57 pm (UTC)The film was okay. Fun and light, a bit like a candy.
no subject
Date: 2006-05-22 11:15 pm (UTC)n'awww. Poor lil drama queen!
um.
hi? :)
no subject
Date: 2006-05-22 11:51 pm (UTC)